Ontario Liberals Welcome Andrea Hazell and Karen McCrimmon as Next MPPs

July 27, 2023

Tonight, residents in Scarborough—Guildwood and Kanata–Carleton elected Ontario Liberal candidates Andrea Hazell and Karen McCrimmon as their newest Members of Provincial Parliament (MPP). In two wins for the Liberals, Hazell held Scarborough–Guildwood and McCrimmon flipped the long-held PC seat.

“I am incredibly grateful to residents in Scarborough—Guildwood for trusting me to be a strong voice for our community at Queen’s Park,” said Hazell. “The Ontario Liberals are standing up for those who call Scarborough home, for working people, for families, for healthcare, and for education. I am committed to fighting for you each and every day.”
“I entered this race to be your voice at Queen’s Park and to fight for you, your family, our seniors and our community,” said McCrimmon. “I am excited to once again serve Kanata–Carleton as our next MPP, doing so with the energy and integrity that residents deserve.”

Tonight’s results send a clear message: the Ontario Liberals are the only party that can hold the Conservatives accountable for their mismanagement of this province. Today’s wins show clear momentum and a path to defeating the Ford Conservatives in 2026.

“Andrea and Karen are proven fighters who have always been a champion for their communities,” said John Fraser, Interim Leader of the Ontario Liberal Party. “Amid the chaos and absent leadership in the Ontario government, Andrea and Karen are exactly who we need at Queen’s Park, and I am thrilled to welcome them as our newest caucus members.”

Carter Brownlee

Press Secretary, Ontario Liberal Party


Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About Ontario Liberal Newsroom